LAS In The D?

As a person who values service and leadership, I try to serve my community and other in many different ways. Whether that is by volunteering at a local non-profit or cleaning up the Earth, I am always doing what I can to change the world for the better. Growing up in Detroit, Michigan I have been volunteering my time for as long as I can remember and it has shaped me into who I am today. So when I heard that the LI would be taking the LAS Scholars on a service trip to my hometown on Friday, February 10th, I was ecstatic.

detroit-aerial-view

The purpose of this trip will be to apply our Leadership roles in a community to try and improve the quality of life and overall economy, even if it is has the slightest of impacts. We will be doing this by partnering with the Jalen Rose Leadership Academy and showing the young leaders there the effects that their leadership can have on their community.

As a person who comes from the city of Detroit, I understand first hand the social and economical issues that are effecting the city today. From schools being underfunded to racial discrimination, the issues that are encompassed within Detroit are many; however, with leadership, passion, and determination, these issues can be resolved. LAS in the D is a tradition that I am most excited to share with the Leadership Institute, and I can’t wait to continue to put my stamp on the world.

Leave a Reply

