Leadership Safari

When I was first accepted into Central Michigan University, I was ecstatic. Along with a few other colleges, central was one of my top choices. In the end, I chose CMU, and my college advisor told me of a program called Leadership Safari. It is a program for incoming freshman and begins a week before classes. This program would enable me to move in early, and I would undergo leadership training as well as getting acclimated to campus. At first, I was indifferent about attending the program as I thought it was going to be like every other leadership seminar I had attended; I was really only going for the perk of moving in early and becoming familiar with campus. As I reflect on my decision to attend Leadership Safari, I now believe that it is one of the best decisions I have made on the path to becoming a better me. Attending Safari changed the perspective I had about going to college. I realized that I needed to make the decisions that are best for me and leave no regrets behind. I also realized that I can’t go to school for something that I’m not passionate about, which I almost made the mistake of doing.  Leadership Safari not only opened my mind to follow my passions, but opened my heart to new friends. I made truly meaningful relationships and life long companions. The over all experiance prepared me for my  years to come at CMU and I am thankful for having been given the opportunity to grow as an individual.

img_14461

Leave a Reply

